It Bites Forum Index It Bites
The place to talk about It Bites

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Guitar techniques

Post new topic   Reply to topic    It Bites Forum Index -> Nothing to do with Music!
View previous topic :: View next topic  
sf-69

PostPosted: Thu Mar 29, 2007 2:23 pm    Post subject: Guitar techniques Reply with quote

Putting this in the "nothing to do with music" column isn't strictly accurate, but i didn't know where else to put it?!

Does anyone have any tips or advise for me please;

I've been playing the guitar for 27 years, and consider myself to be quite adept in doing so. However, I'm not a particularly fast player, and I haven't got a clue when it comes to playing fast runs a la JM/FD, etc. (I guess you'd say my style is more akin to David Gilmour/Steve Hillage)

I'd love to bring a bit of speed into my playing, but haven't got a clue where to start? (I'm very much into jazz fusion, but just can't seem to follow it at all). I've watched a few clips on Youtube, but it just makes my jaw drop, and I end up getting frustrated 'cause I can't follow it, or do it like them!

Plus, I think i've probably picked up a whole host of bad habits in that time, and wonder where i should begin?

Are there any good websites/DVD's you can recommend?
Any tips or advise would be appreciated.

Thanks Smile
Sean

PostPosted: Thu Mar 29, 2007 3:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

One of the methods i have used for years to build up speed and accuracy is by using a metronome.

I use this with scales to warm up, also when learning a new solo etc. i start by setting the metronome to a comfortable beat per minute. Then play the scale/run at this pace, when i can play through two times without any mistake, i speed the metronome up by two BPM, and do the same. Over time you will build up speed.